A little bit of theory?

I accidentally published this before finishing it, but here you go anyway. It’s a piece of writing that’s going to be encorporated into my main site by tonight:

Artistic Style

One of these main reasons I chose Magritte was his visual and artistic style, which I am personally a big fan of. I looked between the artistic influences in my life that are obvious to me and considered between those artists I know. Rene Magritte stood out above all because his art style was unusual and I thought it would translate onto the web rather successfully. His use of cut out images and juxtaposition are things we see in modern art and web design, though often not in the same style, and they allow for some interesting effects like the rollovers on the main page and so forth.

Juxtaposition

I thought the manner of which he juxtaposed normal objects in a surreal setting and context pre-empts the kind of work in which I have done personally in Photoshop. I have been known to change things to make them abstract, or interesting, which is exactly the reasons Magritte himself gives in explanation of some of his work.

Curious, too, that there is a technique that is well known in advertising, which is to change something in an image only slightly, so that when an image is viewed something about it doesn’t seem right. This helps embed the image in your mind, which is how I feel about Magrittes work. It is the reason why the ‘Son of Man’ painting is so well remembered.

About James

Uberbeard, otherwise known as James Crawford has just graduated from the Arts University Bournemouth, taking a course in Interactive Media. He's known to enjoy washing, eating and sleeping.

Leave a Reply

December 2007
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Categories

Uberupdates

