…amusing and witty title regarding Metal Slug…

I’ve not been writing a great amount in my blog recently, whether that’s due to apathy or lack of content I’ll let you make the educated guess.

I have had a mixture of things to talk about but none of them I feel I want to share with the internet at general without being meticulously carefully about how I word everything. As I said before, it has been a mixture of Mario Kart and Grand Theft Auto that has been keeping my spare time nicely engaged recently, though I still haven’t received my own copy of GTAIV from Amazon due to whatever excuse they want to make about shipping errors. Apparently, they had my copy, but something happened to it when they went to send it to me. Neverless, i received Metal Slug Anthology in the post and I admit to being rather impressed by the amount of old shit they’ve crammed in there while simultaneously annoyed that they haven’t added anything to it. Don’t get me wrong, £15 is in no way an excessive price to pay for 7 whole games but part of me still thinks that this is content they’ve already made, and they could do something more interesting with it.

What is affecting my opinion, perhaps, is that I own Metal Slug 3 on the Playstation 2, and instead of just being the Arcade version of the game it has many other features which make it wholly re-playable. The Anthology version on the Wii merely seems to be a collection of the Arcade versions stuck together with a weak attempt at unlockables in the ‘random concept artwork’ section. Of which, you can unlock all of them by playing through two of the games. I would rather they didn’t have them as unlockables at all, to be fair, because in the end if you don’t really have to do much to unlock them, what is the point in having them locked?

Another similar gripe I had was the scoring system, which is probably the greatest challenge of the entire game, in that it is pointedly non-intuitively placed on the main menu, hidden away in the main options. I would have loved to see something more done here, even if it was as simple as splitting up the difficulty levels on the scoreboard to give me something else to do. I mean, the arcade games are great but when you take away the part where you’re paying money you take away the only disincentive to just storm through with no heed for lives, weapons or strategy.

So overall, definitely worth it, the only issue is that the developers could be asking a lot more for such a fantastic collection of games if they had just done something.

About James

Uberbeard, otherwise known as James Crawford has just graduated from the Arts University Bournemouth, taking a course in Interactive Media. He's known to enjoy washing, eating and sleeping.

Leave a Reply

May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Categories

Uberupdates

