Forwards and backwards.

I was talking to Georgie last night, and while we bantered on about how late it was, and past relationships, and all the usual catching up jazz that you talk about when you haven’t spoken to someone in a good while, we approached the topic of old friends. She said something that made me smile, not a happy smile but a knowing one, she said she was surprised at the amount of people who have now matured.

I immediately thought, “bah” because I had been writing my last blog post earlier that day and was rather caught on how everyone I’d been hanging about with had gone one of two ways: Forwards or backwards. Still, rather then dismiss it I thought about it and realized just how many of the people I know have matured enough. I also wondered if I’ve matured at all since Toynbee, but if you think about that you have to account for my dual levels of maturity when it comes to being silly and that just gets complicated.

I guess not everyone is running off to university, but in a way everyone our age now has to confront the fact that they are becoming an adult and if they don’t go with it they’re going to have a very difficult path ahead of them. Last year was good for me, in that sense, because I struggled with this but had the benefit of a relationship to stop me going over the edge.

We also brought up Ben Johnson as a subject, and I explained a whole lot of back story which, coupled with talking about Emily, got me really nostalgic and depressed. I think it was about this point that ‘Foundations – Kate Nash’ came on, and I decided to call it a night before I died of a brain anurism. Anurism? Well, if that’s how you spell it at least.

– teh Beard.

About James

Uberbeard, otherwise known as James Crawford has just graduated from the Arts University Bournemouth, taking a course in Interactive Media. He's known to enjoy washing, eating and sleeping.

Leave a Reply

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Categories

Uberupdates

