Story Tetris.

I have now finished the third series of My Name Is Earl completley, and I have to say I was surprised at how good it was considering I had been told it wasn’t as good as the first two series’. Perhaps it’s because it’s something I’d like to be writing myself, but there were lots of parts to it that really struck me as clever. The settings change, but they manage to write around a lot of the situations flawlessly, and though a couple of the endings were predictable, they were only so because they were exactly what needed to happen.

More and more I love self referencing in series’ like this, My Name Is Earl has got an almost Simpson-esque collection of sub cast members that really bring it to life. I love seeing older characters return in a different episode, all chipping into the story in amusing ways. Not only the characters are here, but the stories and events too. It’s great bringing older things to the newer series, but in series 2 and 3 you see the new episodes go back to the old ones and add more depth to parts of the story we’re already comfortable. It might get a little confused, but I personally love seeing everything fit into place.

Perhaps it’s because I play tetris too much. Anyway, very watchable.

– teh Beard.

About James

Uberbeard, otherwise known as James Crawford has just graduated from the Arts University Bournemouth, taking a course in Interactive Media. He's known to enjoy washing, eating and sleeping.

Leave a Reply

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Categories

Uberupdates

