The Pogues

So I went to see the Pogues last night, with their recklessly dispassionate frontman Shane MacGowan. They were pretty good, and considering I’ve never really liked their music I did enjoy myself quite a bit. Unfortunatley, by the time the gig had kicked off I was half asleep, still tired from all the effort that went into the Christmas meal from the night before.

Shane himself was absolutely wasted, and I don’t use that term lightly, but with the atmosphere in the hall it seemed to be pretty natural.

True story: One of the crowd threw a bottle at the stage, not entirely surprising, and it landed perfectly in Shane MacGowan’s front coat pocket. Strange! Amazing! FANTASTIC! No, but it was pretty cool, I would hope someone got it on film.

Shane MacGowan

A one picture argument against the rock and roll lifestyle, eh? One up of the evening is that Shane only laughed once, so I’ll only suffer a week of sleepless nights. No joke, but for me there’s a direct link between the wheezing hacks that he’s managed to turn into a laugh and the darkest fears in my heart. I’m pretty sure that if I were to encounter a Boggart, the creature that would manifest would make the same horrible sound.

Anyway, that’s me for today, back to watching Drake and Josh with my brother.

About James

Uberbeard, otherwise known as James Crawford has just graduated from the Arts University Bournemouth, taking a course in Interactive Media. He's known to enjoy washing, eating and sleeping.

Leave a Reply

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Categories

Uberupdates

