Keeping it Sanitary

Now, this is an odd post about an odd subject that’s existence, under any normal circumstance, would not even occur to me: Tampon sanitary towel decorations.

Were it not for my mother, whose observational skill is not documented to be any better than anyone else, I would not be writing to let you know that this normal looking tampon I am showing above (which may also be the highest resolution photograph of a tampon hosted on wordpress) has been shipped with a nice little easter egg for anyone willing to stare at it longer than it takes you to throw it between your legs.

That’s right! It’s ultra absorbent! No, no that’s not what I was pointing out at all. Look at the shaping of the central pattern; is it just us or does that resemble a fish? Well, it’s either that or a Fat Man nuke but I’m fairly sure nobody has accused woman parts of smelling like atomic power before.

Is someone sat in the Bodyform office snickering away at their own wit? Or have they unknowingly designed a hilarious pattern gracing the pubic area of millions of women, cementing the association between sea life and vagina’s for centuries to come? I don’t know, nor does mother and between us we know almost nothing about everything.

beard

About James

Uberbeard, otherwise known as James Crawford has just graduated from the Arts University Bournemouth, taking a course in Interactive Media. He's known to enjoy washing, eating and sleeping.

2 responses to “Keeping it Sanitary

  1. LOL, oh trust me, I have some high res pictures of such products on my blog – lots of it 😀

    I’m quite astounded to see a male daring such a post so kudos!

    I’d just like to point out though that from my understanding, the product as shown above would be considered a maxi pad (named in most of North America) or sanitary towel/napkin in other parts of the world.

    I believe most pad designs when it comes to the “channels” and “layout” of the grooves in the pad is to act as barriers to funnel menstrual flow to the more absorbent parts and to prevent flow from going outside those areas in an attempt to prevent leaks. It just happens that the layout of most pads coincide with particular shapes or patterns because it’s a common design to fit most women’s vaginal anatomy. 🙂

  2. Upon further consideration I believe that it’s known at a sanitary towel here too… In fact, I think tampons take the whole affair a little too far, being the rocket shaped protective devices whose tails are often caught in holiday photographs.

    This is a UK writer, I’m aware of the name ‘maxi-pad’ but I’ve only ever used it to effectively mock Apple.

    Before this goes into too much depth, however, I think I’ll draw a line in the sand. I’m happy not thinking about the depth of design for ridges and fluid channels outside of water drainage and volcano relief efforts.

Leave a Reply

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   Nov »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Categories

Uberupdates

